Skip to content ↓

Early Years Curriculum

What will my child be learning?

The EYFS framework outlines seven areas of learning and development.  There are three prime areas of learning, which are particularly important for your child's development and future learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development

There are four specific areas of learning, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy 
  • mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive arts and design.

Early years practitioners also use your child's needs and interests to plan challenging and enjoyable activities and experiences.

How will my child be learning?

The EYFS framework (Development Matters) identifies the essential role of play in your child's development.  It is through child-led play, adult-guided play and adult-led focused sessions that your child will learn through.

The EYFS framework identifies three characteristics of effective teaching and learning:

  • playing and exploring
  • active learning
  • creating and thinking critically

How will I know how my child is doing?

Your child's teaching staff will work in partnership with you, continually sharing information about your child's progress. We have an open-door policy where you can speak to a member of staff at the start and end of the school day, and you will be invited to school for two parents' evenings during the year.  At the end of the school year, you will receive your child's school report which will summarise your child's development and their next steps for learning as they move into the next school year.  We ensure that there is always open communication between home and school.